Baby In Basket Birthday Cake

20130816-223713.jpg

20130816-223739.jpg

So here is another birthday cake I made recently for our baby of the family who turned 2. Inspired by the woman’s weekly children’s birthday cake book version I decided to make the baby in the basket cake.
I didn’t think the original cake quantities would be enough to feed our family as well as our extended family. A friend suggested making the cake in a larger Pyrex baking dish and that’s exactly what I did. I made a double batch of the butter cake recipe and did a few variations ie I used a larger doll, flat lace (as I couldn’t get my hands on the frilled variety), and I made a double batch of Vienna cream icing. All in all I was happy with the end result and I would have to say it is one of the easier, less time consuming cakes I have made for the kids. Winner all round.

Leave a Reply

