Chunky Nut Cookies

20130921-150431.jpg

These biscuits are delicious, it is the first time I have made them. I found the recipe recently in woman’s day, I think the recipes are my favourite part of gossip magazines but who doesn’t appreciate a bit of good gossip here and there?
I added some dark chocolate squiggles to the tops of the biscuits once they were cool and I think it finished them off perfectly flavour wise and visually (see note below). I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and I have to say I’m well and truly loving it’s work.It’s been worth the wait for my old mixer to finally bite the dust, sorry old Sunbeam you served me well for 10 years I won’t forget that!!! Anyway onward and upward I say, so here are the ingredients and instructions to a very satisfying chunky little treat!!

Ingredients
125g butter softened
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon golden syrup
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups self-raising flour (I also add a pinch of salt)
1 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
1 cup, roughly chopped, raw mixed nuts. (I used pecan and macadamia)

Method
1. Preheat oven to moderate, 180 degrees celsius. Line two oven trays with baking paper.
2. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar together until pale and creamy. Add syrup, milk and vanilla,beating until well combined.
3. Stir in combined sifted flour and bicarbonate of soda. Lightly mix in nuts until well combined.
4. Roll heaped tablespoons of mixture into balls. Arrange on trays, 4cm apart,flattening lightly with a fork.
5. bake 12-15 minutes, until golden brown and crisp (I found I needed to lengthen cooking time and reduce temp a bit as they were still very soft just keep an eye on them).
cool on trays 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Note: If you wish to finish the biscuits off with some chocolate squiggles I just melted 125g dark chocolate then spooned it into a snaplock/ziplock bag, snipped off 1 corner of bag and piped away. I totally recommend doing this especially if you enjoy a bit of dark chocolate.

Leave a Reply

