Butter Coconut Crisp Biscuits

20131027-204714.jpg
I feel very fortunate to have in my possession one of my late Nanna’s recipe collection’s. A lot of the recipes are clippings from magazines and newspapers, she must have kept an eye out as I do now for any recipes that sound yummy. So as I was flicking through this little collection of treasures, I came across a recipe that looked quick and easy to make as well as great lunchbox treat for Zakidlets.

INGREDIENTS

125g butter
2 cups self-raising flour
1 cup sugar
1 egg
(optional extra I added 1/2 cup dried cranberries)
coconut

METHOD

Melt Butter. Sift flour and sugar into a bowl, add cranberries if desired, add beaten egg and gradually the melted butter (you may not need it all), mix thoroughly. Form into small balls, roll in coconut.
Place on lined baking trays press down slightly, leaving enough room for biscuits to spread. Bake in a moderate oven approximately 10-15 minutes (I made mine a little on the larger side it took them closer to 20 minutes). Loosen on tray, leave until cold. If you like a crunchy crisp biscuit then you will love these.

20131027-204901.jpg

Leave a comment