Salted Caramel Fudge

My inspiration to search for this recipe came from my dear little man Blake. I had planned to make a chocolate mint slice but somehow that got put on hold and Blake’s request for caramel fudge took over. I found the recipe on a UK Nestle site. Before I give you the link to the recipe I will share with you the little tweaks I made to the recipe.
The pictures below are my own but you will find more when you click on the link to the recipe.
First tweak, I did not have Demerara sugar so I just used regular brown sugar (Coles Brand in fact).
2nd tweak our tins of condensed milk are 395g in size (which I used) not 397g as recipe calls for, I think that must be a UK thing.
3rd tweak once fudge was pressed into tin and had cooled off a little I sprinkled about 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt flakes evenly over the fudge and lightly pressed it in.

20131107-212114.jpg
I used the jug of iced water suggestion to test the fudges readiness.
When the recipe says to beat the fudge for about 10 minutes it is not exaggerating, I beat the mixture for about 12 minutes on my kitchen aid mixer on a speed of 6. I did let the mixture cool for about 5 minutes before starting to beat it.
20131107-212207.jpg
I was concerned about the fudge not setting as it was a very warm day, so I did attempt putting it in the fridge for a bit. It did dry the top surface a little but I do think it helped firm it up.
I only had it in the fridge for about 30 minutes. Next time I think I will try to avoid the fridge and just stick to the guidelines of completely letting it set in a cool dry place.
To take the next step and create this delicious little treat click here for the recipe.

20131107-212238.jpg

Leave a Reply

