An Afternoon Treat of Anzac Biscuits and Chocolate Milkshakes

I have vivid memories of eating and making Anzac biscuits when I was little. I had a friend called Melissa and whenever I visited her house for a playdate it almost became a ritual that we would ask her Mum to bake Anzac biscuits with us.
I haven’t started a ritual as such with Zakidlets but whenever time permits I like to bake for them and whenever I let them have the opportunity they love to help me bake.
Last week they didn’t get to help me bake but I did manage to surprise them with a little afternoon tea.
Home baked Anzac biscuits and chocolate milkshakes!!!!
Please don’t think I do this everyday, as much as I would love to bake and create everyday and be a super Zamama there is something called reality, which for me is being a Mum of 3 amazing little humans, attempting to be a pleasant wife to Zadada (I have those things called moments sometimes!) and also balancing a part-time job as an optical dispenser.
Anyway getting back to the surprise afternoon tea, a few weeks ago I found these little glass milk bottles (pictured below) at the Reject Shop for only $1.50 each, that’s when the idea popped into my head for an afternoon tea with a bit of fun . I also purchased some old-fashioned striped paper straws for $2.00.
20131111-205617.jpg
As you can see the reaction was one of great satisfaction for 3 little people and their growing appetites.
I believe treats, especially homemade ones, in moderation, are a necessity in everyone’s lives.

20131111-210452.jpg

20131111-210759.jpg
Most of you probably know a good Anzac biscuit recipe but just in case you haven’t found one yet I will share the one I use with you.
It’s from my trusted Woman’s weekly cookbook called ‘Sweet Old Fashioned Favourites’.

INGREDIENTS

1 cup rolled oats
1 cup plain flour
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup coconut
125g butter
1 tablespoon golden syrup
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
2 tablespoons boiling water

METHOD

1 Combine oats, sifted flour, sugar and coconut in a large bowl.
2 Combine butter and golden syrup in a pan; stir over low heat until butter is melted (I use the microwave for this step, heating butter and golden syrup in microwave safe container for 1 minute). Combine soda and water, add to butter mixture (it will froth up); stir into dry ingredients while mixture is warm.
3 Place 3-level-teaspoon portions of mixture ( I work with 1 tablespoon) about 4cm apart on greased oven trays; press down lightly.
4 Bake in a slow oven about 20 minutes or until lightly golden brown. Loosen biscuits while warm, cool on trays.
Note: We like our biscuits a bit chewy in the Zamama household. To get a chewy result I don’t cook biscuits for quite as long and I move them off the trays before they completely cool.

I have never attempted but it does say the biscuits are freezer suited, ours always get consumed rather quickly so the freezing option hasn’t been required for us as yet.

20131111-210929.jpg

Leave a Reply

