Nanna Loy’s Kansas Cockle Biscuits

This recipe is very near and dear to my heart and I’m sure near and dear to a lot of other family members hearts. My beautiful, late Nanna Loy shared this recipe with me quite some time ago, 18 years to be exact. I was thinking of Nanna Loy’s Kansas Cockle biscuits just the other day and I knew I had a recipe for them somewhere in my recipe cupboard that she had personally hand written for me. That thought was enough to set me into a mission of ‘Find that recipe’ and I did just that. On a piece of pretty pink paper I found the recipe she gave me all those years ago.
Nanna Loy you will forever have a special sweet place in my heart.
I look forward to sharing more of Nanna Loy’s recipes with you but today it’s her Kansas Cockles.

You will need:
125g butter
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups self-raising flour
1/2 cup cornflour

Method:
Cream butter and sugar well. Add egg, beat well then add vanilla.
20131113-193900.jpg
Add sifted flours, stir until smooth.
Make into small balls (I used heaped teaspoons for my sizing).
Press down with a fork.

20131113-193953.jpg
Cook in a moderate oven about 15 minutes (just keep an eye on them).
When cool ice together.
20131113-194016.jpg
Traditionally you ice Kansas Cockles together with a Jam icing but this time around I decided to use a dark chocolate ganache.
I melted 200g dark chocolate with 80ml cream over a pan of simmering water, stirring every now and then until smooth. I then placed melted mixture in fridge to firm up until it is of a spreadable consistency.

20131113-194431.jpg
The result a delicious little biscuit.
I feel very fortunate to have had 2 amazing Grandmothers that shared their passion for baking and crafting with me. I will be forever grateful.

One thought on “Nanna Loy’s Kansas Cockle Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Zamamabakes is going to Market Part 3 | Zamamabakes

Leave a Reply

