Carrot & Lime Cake

20131113-200802.jpg

I found this recipe while sorting through my recipes I have collected from magazines over the years. This one is from a Take 5 magazine.
It’s delicious and moist. I had to tweak the ingredients a little to suit the supplies I had at home. It was actually a carrot and orange cake but I had no oranges so that’s how it became a carrot and lime cake.

You will need:
1 3/4 cups self-raising flour
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
3/4 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup desiccated coconut
1 1/2 cups coarsely grated carrot (about 2)
2 teaspoons finely grated lime rind (you can use orange)
3 x eggs lightly beaten
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup plain yoghurt (I used greek)
1/3 cup lime juice (you can use orange)

20131113-200838.jpg
1 Grease a 22cm fluted tube pan (I used a standard non-stick ring tin).
Sift flour and bicarbonate soda into a large bowl, Stir in sugar, coconut, carrot,and lime rind. Combine eggs, oil, yoghurt and lime juice in a large jug.
Make a well in the centre of dry ingredients, add egg mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until ingredients are well combined.

2 Pour mixture into the prepared pan and bake in a 180C preheated oven for 45-50 minutes or until skewer inserted into cake comes out clean. Remove cake from oven, let stand in the pan for 10 minutes and then turn onto a wire rack to cool.

20131113-201028.jpg
3 To make icing sift 1/2 cup icing sugar into a bowl, stir in pulp of 1 passionfruit and 1 teaspoon of warmed milk, mix to form a smooth thin icing. Drizzle icing over cooled cake.
NOTE!!! I did not have passionfruit and I like extra icing so I substituted lime juice for passionfruit and I tripled icing sugar quantity. I also added a little extra milk until I got a spreadable consistency. I then garnished with some finely grated lime rind.
20131113-201048.jpg
This is a yummy cake, the great part is you don’t have to use an electric mixer!!

Leave a Reply

