Carrot galette with a side of quinoa salad

When I was wading my way through my pile of recipe clippings last week this was one that caught my attention, mind you it doesn’t take much for an unattempted recipe to draw me in!
From memory the recipe was one I tore out of a free Coles supermarket food magazine (you know the one’s they giveaway at the checkout for each season), just don’t ask me which year or season!
I made sure I got the ingredients I needed during the week (well so I thought) in hope that I may just get the chance to make it for lunch sometime over the weekend. It just so happened I found a window of opportunity on Sunday and because I also made a carrot and quinoa cake resulting in leftover quinoa, I decided rather than waste it I would make a salad to go with the galette. I’m hoping to get the Carrot and Quinoa cake up on a post for tomorrow!! Anyway…..

You will need:
1 bunch Dutch Carrots
olive oil spray (I just used normal olive oil)
375g block frozen puff pastry, thawed (I used 2 sheets of ready-made puff pastry and joined them by brushing milk on first sheet then placed 2nd sheet on top).
300g ricotta cheese
1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest
1 tablespoon finely chopped oregano (I just used dry herbs, I actually used masterfoods greek seasoning)

Preheat oven to 200c or 180c fan.Line a baking tray with non-stick baking paper. Scrub carrots and trim the leafy tops. Carefully cut each carrot in half, lengthways. Arrange in a single layer on tray and spray or drizzle lightly with oil. Roast 10-15 minutes until just tender, cool.
Prepare another baking tray lined with baking paper.
Roll out pastry to about 5mm thick (or alternatively lay 2 sheets of ready-made puff pastry on top of each other, brushing first piece of pastry with milk before adding the 2nd on top). Place prepared pastry on baking tray.
Score a line around the edge of pastry, about 2cm from edge, to create a border,and prick the area inside the line all over with a fork. Combine ricotta, zest and oregano in a bowl and season. Spread over the pastry within the line. Arrange carrots over ricotta mixture.

20131118-211509.jpg

Place into oven and cook for 20-25 minutes (err on the side of caution in my oven 15 minutes would have been better mine burned a little), until pastry is crisp and golden brown. Serve warm.

20131118-211913.jpg

As for the Quinoa Salad just use my Easy Brown Rice salad recipe here and substitute Quinoa for the rice.

20131118-212120.jpg

The result a delicious, reasonably healthy lunch. I finished my carrot gallette with a drizzle of Simply stirred Caramelised Balsamic Dressing from Tweed fruit exchange it was delicious.

20131118-212231.jpg

Leave a Reply

