Easy, Tasty Cheese Ball Recipe

Well hello again. Hope your week is going well. We have had a great week. I am still very much enjoying the fact that it’s school holidays and we are not having to stick to a strict schedule.

I promised this recipe to everyone last year when I revealed the menu for our 2013 Christmas day feast!!
This delicious little appetiser first found my attention 3 years ago when Zaunclejim featured it on his cheese platter for Christmas day. It was a fantastic hit, everyone loved it. I believe it was one of Zaunclejims gorgeous work colleagues who originally shared it with him a few years ago. We love it so much we asked Zaunclejim to bring another one for the 2013 Christmas feast just passed. I love a great recipe that finds its way to me, so thank you Zaunclejim and Zagorgeous work colleague.

I have made the Cheese Ball a few times now, most recently I made it and took it along to a baby shower I attended last weekend.

A recipe like this should be shared over and over. So here is me sharing it with you.

20140115-220006.jpg

You will need:

250g cream cheese
125g triangle of Blue vein cheese
60g butter softened
1/2 cup sliced black olives (I used a combination of olives and semi sun-dried tomatoes)
3 shallots finely chopped
Approx 150g chopped walnuts, pecans or cashews (I used walnuts)

20140115-220057.jpg

Combine all ingredients except for nuts (keep them aside) in a food processor (if you don’t have a food processor a hand mixer will do, mix cheeses and butter first until smooth, then add the vegetables).

20140115-220133.jpg

Process/mix until evenly combined. It is meant to be a textured mixture so don’t over process or mix.

20140115-220236.jpg

To make the mixture a little easier to handle I refrigerate it for about 1/2 an hour.

20140115-220319.jpg

Prepare your nuts on a piece of baking paper.

20140115-220351.jpg

Remove chilled cheese mixture from the fridge. I moistened my hands a little which made the mixture a little easier to work with.

NOTE: Depending on the size of Cheese Ball you want for your platter, this quantity has the potential to make 2 good size balls and possibly 4 smaller ones you may just need a few extra nuts for rolling.

20140115-220424.jpg

Carefully place cheese mixture in a mound on top of prepared nuts. Just work the nuts up and around the mixture, then roll it over and continue to press the nuts all over until the Cheese Ball is well coated.

20140115-220515.jpg

Once you have your Cheese Ball prepared wrap it in cling wrap and place it back in the fridge to firm up for at least 20 minutes.

The Cheese Ball will keep in the fridge for a good 5 days so if you want to prepare it ahead of time you can.

20140115-220610.jpg

I made a smaller ball for Zadada and I, as well as the larger ball to take to the baby shower pictured below.

20140115-220642.jpg

I love colour so I served the Cheese ball with some raw veggies as well as some crackers.
I had a lovely morning at the baby shower.

You really need to put this recipe on your to-make list, you won’t regret it.

Next up in the Blog Post pipeline is an easy sweet treat involving licorice allsorts.

Until then
Zamamabakes

2 thoughts on “Easy, Tasty Cheese Ball Recipe

  1. Hey Beautiful Danielle. I have not tried your cheese ball yet, but I intend to. Just wanted to let you know what I do with mine, which you may or may not want to give a go… I make mine into a ‘cheese log’ only because I find it easier to slice/eat etc. There you go, just thought I would let thou know, lol. xx

Leave a Reply

